Verdicts & Settlements: $20 million awarded - child sex abuse case in Stamford    $1.1 million won - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder    $1 million - Injured worker requiring back surgery    $1 million+ Awarded - Woman in car accident Rt. 17    $975,000 Recovered - Foot Injury at Work    $650,000 Recovered - Woman suffered neck injury required surgery    $580,000 Recovered - Head Trauma as a Result of Falling Downstairs    $500,000 Recovered - Pedestrian Hit by Car    $500,000 Recovered - Rear End Car Accident    $425,000 Recovered - Rear End Tractor Trailer Accident    $380,000 Recovered - Dog Bite by Police Dog    $155,000 Recovered - Slip and Fall on Walkway    $125,000 Recovered - Slip and Fall at a Supermarket

What is the statute of limitations for filing a car accident claim in the state of Connecticut?

The statute of limitations for filing a car accident lawsuit in Connecticut is two years from the date of the accident. However, car accidents that are the result of a defective product or those that result in wrongful death or property damage have their own statutes of limitations.

Wrongful death: If the car accident results in wrongful death, surviving family members have two years to file a wrongful death lawsuit from the date the individual died.

Defective product: If the car accident is a result of a defective product, such as faulty brakes or a malfunctioning airbag, the injured person may be able to file a product liability lawsuit against the manufacturer of the product. The lawsuit must be filed within three years from the date of injury.

Property damage: If the car accident results in property damage, whether minor or severe, the victim must file a property damage claim within two years from the date the damage occurred.

Claims against the government: If the car accident is caused by a government vehicle or by a poorly designed or maintained road, the State Claims Commissioner must be notified of a personal injury claim against the state within one year from the date of injury.