A dog bite victim in Connecticut can recover compensation under a special statute and the doctrines of negligence. Connecticut has a statute that imposes strict liability upon the owner or keeper of a dog that injures property or inflicts bodily injuries on a person. The statute also covers non-bite injuries.
Owner Liability Rules Connecticut
According to Connecticut’s dog bite statute (CGS § 22-357) a dog’s owner or keeper is liable for any damage caused by his or her dog to a person’s body or property, unless the damage was sustained while the person was committing a trespass or other tort or was teasing, abusing, or tormenting the dog. If a minor, on whose behalf an action under this section is brought, was under seven years of age at the time the damage was done, it shall be presumed that such minor was not committing a trespass or other tort, or teasing, tormenting or abusing such dog, and the burden of proof thereof shall be upon the defendant in such action.
If damage has been caused by two or more dogs at the same time, and the dogs are kept by more than one person, then the owners or keepers are jointly liable for the damage (CGS § 22-356). In other words, each owner is responsible for the entire amount of the damages, although he or she may be able to sue the other owner to recover a portion of the damages.
Time Limit for Filing a Dog Bite Case
When a case is brought under the dog bite statute, it should be filed within three years from the date of the incident. In some cases the dog bite statute does not apply, for example the defendant is not the owner of the dog, the statute of limitations is only two years.
Have You Been Bitten by a Dog? Meet Our Personal Injury Attorney
Serving throughout Stamford, Bridgeport and Danbury in Connecticut
Dog bites can be painful and overwhelming. If you are injured by a dog, then the owner is definitely responsible. The Reinken Law firm has been fighting personal injury cases for more than 30 years. Our attorneys will make sure you’re not deprived of your legal rights. Call us today to discuss your case with our experts and experienced personal injury attorneys. You can call 203-541-0090 /800-987-8780. You can also text us at 203-913-4179for an immediate response from our office legal team who are available 24 hours a day/7 Days a Week.