Every state has laws that address control and restrain of dogs. In the state of Connecticut, the law is specifically written to ensure that dogs are always under their owner’s control.
Leash law for dogs
- The state of Connecticut does not require that dogs to be leashed at all times. However, it is not permitted for dogs to run free. Dog owners are required to prevent their dogs from entering into a person’s property, and from running onto the public highways. Dogs are also required to be leashed in all state parks.
- Hunting dogs are an exception; they are allowed to run free in permitted areas with the owner’s supervision. If anyone is attacked as a result, the dog owner will be fined, imprisoned and will be held liable for the injuries.
- Guide dogs must be on a leash out in public, by wearing a harness or orange colored leash.
A dog running loose will be picked and taken to an animal shelter by animal control officers. The owner will be fined and charged with the cost of impounding the dog, if unlicensed there will be more fines.
- The dog that has been observed to act in an aggressive or vicious manner must be securely confined at all times.
- Anyone who’s bitten by a dog showing visible evidence of an attack may kill the dog during an attack if it happened off its owners’ premises.
- If the dog roams free and causes any physical harm to someone, the owner is subject to a fine of up to $1000, imprisonment for up to six months, or both.
- All animal control officers are responsible for enforcing all roaming and vicious dog laws.
- If a dog bites a person off its owners’ property, it must be quarantined for 14 days at a local pound, veterinary hospital or other property approved by the department of agricultural commissioner.
- The purpose of a quarantine is to ensure that the dog is examined for rabies and its behavior. Fees associated with a quarantine are the responsibility of the owner.
- The dog owner is strictly liable for any injuries or damages caused by a dog on a person’s body or property.
- The only exception is if the injured person was trespassing, teasing, abusing or tormenting the dog.
- It is the responsibility of the dog attack victim to report the incident to the state town or regional animal control officer.
- The law prohibits anyone from owning or keeping a dog that is vicious, extremely aggressive and barks excessively.
The Reinken Law Firm handles dog bite injury cases throughout Connecticut
If you have suffered any injuries or damages caused by someone else’s dog that was not under its owner’s control, we can help. With our years of experience, extensive knowledge of dog bite law and personalized attention, we fight aggressively for your rights during this stressful time and for the compensation you deserve. Contact The Reinken Law Firm dog bite attorneys at 203.541.0090/ 203.491.4404/203-418-7037 /203-489-2825 or fax at 203-325-8807.